59 File for Elected PCO Positions in the 3rd LD

May 20, 2018

By the time Filing Week ended on Friday at 4:00 pm, a total of 59 individuals had filed with Spokane County Elections for 49 Democratic Precinct Committee Officer (PCO) positions in the 3rd Legislative District.

After Monday, May 21, 2018 (the last day to withdraw candidacies), 39 individuals will be automatically elected as Democratic PCOs in the 3rd Legislative District. Their terms of office will begin December 1, 2018 and continue through November 30, 2020.

Ten contested 3rd LD Democratic PCO races will appear on the August 7, 2018 primary ballot:

The Chair will provide each of the candidates a list of voters in their precinct so that they are in a position to contact voters in advance of the August primary. Once elected, these PCOs will also take office on December 1, 2018 for a two-year term.

As expected, 3rd LD State Representatives Marcus Riccelli and Timm Ormsby filed for re-election to the Washington State House of Representatives. Both face Republican candidates in the August primary and the November general election.

And former 3rd LD State Senator Lisa Brown made official her bid for Congress by filing for election with the Washington Secretary of State's office. She faces four opponents in the August "top two" primary.

Two officers of The Third Legislative District Democrats filed to run for county office:

Precinct Committee Officers will likely meet on Tuesday, June 12 to finalize endorsements for the 2018 election season. Location of the meeting is to be determined.